1996 Year of the Mouse Gold Coin

The Perth Mint began the Australian Lunar Gold Coin Series in 1996 with the Year of the Mouse. This represented a good starting point as the first year in the repeating Chinese Zodiac. The reverse design depicts a Mouse climbing over rocky ground with the corresponding Chinese character in the field above. The remaining inscriptions […]

2008 Year of the Mouse Gold Coin

Following the conclusion of the first 12-coin series, the Perth Mint introduced the Australian Lunar Series II with the 2008 Year of the Mouse Gold Coin. Compared to the previous series these coins featured a wider diameter to allow extra space for the new artistry for each animal. Certain inscriptions were also moved to the […]